Pearl (Toddy) Porath Memorial Scholarship Fund

Pearl  Marie (Toddy) Bowman Porath was born on June 25, 1919 in Black River Falls.  She died on December 8, 2013 at the age of 94. Toddy graduated from Black River Falls High School in 1937.  Following graduation, she continued her education at vocational school in Eau Claire and then enrolled in the journalism program at UW Madison.  In 1942 Toddy moved to Miami, Florida and began taking courses at the University of Miami.  She became the manager of the book department in Burdine’s Department Store. In 1952 Toddy returned to BRF.  Toddy handled publicity for Jackson County District Attorney, Lester Johnson.  Later Toddy became the editor of the Banner Journal Newspaper.  She produced the monthly feature section for the Jackson Electric Co-op ‘Wis REC News’.  Toddy served on the library board and co-chaired publication of the BRF High School’s Alumni directory. Toddy loved writing, reading  and history.  She donated her massive file collection about Jackson County’s history, activities and pictures to the Black River Falls Public Library History Room.



  • Amount of Scholarship(s)   $1,000.
  • Number of Scholarship(s) Awarded:   4 Scholarships will be awarded per year.   At least 2 of the 4 will be awarded to alumni.
  • Payment(s) to the selected recipient(s) will be made directly to the university/college financial aid office



  • Be a graduate or alumni of Black River Falls High School
  • Have demonstrated an interest in journalism, communication and local history through their involvement throughout their academic endeavors.
  • Preference will be given to those students who are actively involved in the BRF community.
  • Application Deadline is:


Applicants must submit the following items to be considered for this scholarship:

  • Application forms and additional Instructions can be obtained from Black River Falls High School by clicking here: (Link to BRF High School Scholarship Web Site)



Selection will be made by the Black River Falls High School Scholarship Committee.