Phillip & Aldena Meyer Memorial Scholarship Fund

The children of Phillip and Aldena Meyer have created a scholarship to honor their parents.
Philip was born on a farm near Hatfield to George and Bertha (Edwards) Meyer. He attended Hatfield rural school and graduated from Merrillan High School in 1930. After attending a one year teacher’s training course in BRF, Philip returned as a teacher in the Hatfield rural school from 1935 to 1940. Later he also worked as a teacher and principal at the Hixton Grade School. Philip went on to earn his Bachelor of Education degree from Eau Claire State Teachers College and his Masters degree from UW Madison. During World War II Philip was an instructor of electronics at the Army Air Force base near Madison. After the war, he returned to BRF as an elementary teacher and principal. Having given 40-1/2 years of servie in education, he retired as principal of the Forrest Street School in 1978.
Philip never tired of teaching and learning. After retiring he continued to teach by helping hearing impaired individuals earn their drivers license. His love to learn continued by taking woodworking classes taught by his son.
Philip’s many hobbies were his grandchildren, gardening, building furniture, refinishing antiques and caning. He was an avid reader, reading at least a book a week.
Philip passed away in 1997 at the age of 84.
Aldena Elnora Staffon was born in Oak Grove, township of Alma, Jackson County. At a young age she moved with her family to a farm in Wrightsville. She attended the Wrightsville School and later graduated from BRF High School. She attended Teacher’s Training in BRF and after went on to teach rural schools from first through eighth grades at Kenyon Valley, Judkins and Van Horn schools. She also taught at Hixton Elementary and was a substitute teacher in BRF. During this time she also attended Eau Claire State Teachers College during the summers.
She married Philip Meyer in 1937 and they shared 60 years together before Philip’s passing.
Aldena was a faithful member of the BRF United Methodist Church for 60 years and was also very active in her community, contributing time to Homemakers, the Hospital Auziliary and the BRF Woman’s Club.
Aldena was given to letter writing, so she kept in close touch with family and friends. She enjoyed her flowers and birds and was dedicated to her family and their activities. Her great joy was her family and friends and times they shared together.



  • Amount of Scholarship(s): $1,000
  • Number of Scholarship(s) Awarded: 1
  • Payment(s) to the selected recipient(s) will be made directly to the university/college financial aid office.



  • Be a graduate or alumni of Black River Falls High School
  • Application Deadline is: (See the BRF High School Website for this information)


Applicants must submit the following items to be considered for this scholarship:

  • Application forms and additional Instructions can be obtained from Black River Falls High School.


Selection will be made by the BRF High School Scholarship Committee.




2000 Katie Melby, Viterbo College, LaCrosse, WI
2001 Anthony Rozmenoski, UW Eau Claire
2002 Kimberly Melby
2003 Kristen Boehm
2005 Kyle Allen
2006 Aleisha Olson
2007 Jennifer Meyer
2008 Michelle Lindberg
2009 Allison Volk
2010 Adam Nichols
2011 Zach Markhardt
2012 Tyler Bue
2013 Riley Dawn Smith, UW Eau Claire
2014 Emily Ann-Marie Stewart, UW LaCrosse: Biology

Emily Stewart